

Clarence Daniel, President SEAT H

Hugh
Dyment
Vice President
SEAT I

Mike Husa, Board Secretary SEAT G

Catherine Cedars, Board Treasurer SEAT F

> Felix Albert, SEAT A

> Janet Erik, SEAT B

Oscar Active, Sr., SEAT C

Wassilie Pleasant, SEAT D

Richard Long, SEAT E

Student Representatives

> Tiffany Laraux, BRHS

> > &

Laverna James, KLA

LKSD BOARD ACTIONS

October 26, 2023 Regular Meeting

The Lower Kuskokwim School District Board of Education met on September 18, 2023. Board members in attendance were Clarence Daniel, Hugh Dyment, Mike Husa, Felix Albert, Oscar Active Sr., Catherine Cedars, and via Zoom Richard Long and Wassilie Pleasant.

During the meeting, the Board:

- Approved the minutes from the September 18, 2023 Regular Meeting.
- Heard the Food Service Report; the Kipnuk School Report; the Kwethluk School Report; the LKNEA Report; the Housing Report; the Erosion Update; the MOA Report; the Data Report; and the Superintendent's Report;
- Approved the items listed on the Consent Agenda which include routine classified personnel actions, the permission to submit grants and receive funds, and moved the Certified Personnel Actions to an Action Item.
- Approved the waiver of rental fees as an in-kind donation not to exceed the amount of \$14,350 to the Yuut Basketball Association.
- Entered into a MOA with the Alaska Native Science and Engineering Program (ANSEP) in an amount not to exceed \$160,000.
- Entered into an MOU with the Alaska Association of Alaska School Boards for the purpose of the Alaska State Family Engagement Center grant.
- Approved Whitney Spiehler as an Administrative Intern for the 2023-204 School Year.
- Approved the Indian Policies and Procedures Document.
- Ratified the appointment of Lavina DeBilt to the Quinhagak ASB.
- Ratified the appointment of Angelica Hooper and Erica Inakak to the Tununak ASB.
- Retired AR 6146.3.
- Approved the FY24 Board Committee Appointments as follows:

Board Executive Committee (Board Officers): Clarence Daniel, Hugh Dyment, Mike Husa, and Catherine Cedars

*Budget Advisory Committee / Strategic Improvement Team: Clarence Daniel, Mike Husa, Wassilie Pleasant, Catherine Cedars

*CNE-PAC: Richard Long, Felix Albert

Yuut Elitnaurviat: Felix Albert, Oscar Active, Sr.

Board Policy Committee: Hugh Dyment, Mike Husa, Richard Long, Catherine Cedars LKNEA Negotiations (Certified and Classified): Mike Husa (Certified), Richard Long (both), and Catherine Cedars (Classified)

*Housing Review Committee: Mike Husa Staff Evaluation: Wassilie Pleasant, Janet Erik

Curriculum Committee (ELA): Hugh Dyment, Janet Erik

KLA: Hugh Dyment

Ayaprun Elitnaurvik Steering Committee: Catherine Cedars

New Superintendent Search Committee: Clarence Daniel, Hugh Dyment, Mike Husa,

and Catherine Cedars

Food Service: Wassilie Pleasant

Safety: Hugh Dyment

- Approved the Early Graduation Request for Student Two with conditions.
- Approved the Early Graduation Request for Student Three with conditions identified.
- Appointed Tiffany Laraux and Lavera James as the LKSD Student Representatives to the

(Board Actions, continued)

Board.

• Approved the Certified Personnel Actions except for the contract extensions for the Chess Club, Engineering Club, Book Club, and E-Sports.

The approved minutes of the August 24, 2023 Regular Board Meeting are available to view in BoardDocs.